Letterboxes and postboxes in various colours and available personalised in the UK Home Contact About Us

Slightly Better Books

Author Focus:

Freda Warrington

Horror; Gothic; Vampires

  Rock n Romance Vintage, Authentic 1940s and 50s Inspired Style Clothing
Freda Warrington
In Pictures


****Hyperlinked titles will take you to our copy on sale or prebuilt searches of copies on sale****

Useful Links:
Books on Ebay-see our specially prebuilt search below
Books on Amazon-see our special banner of titles below

Titles to Look Out For:
1992. A Taste of Blood Wine

About the Author:
Freda Warrington (1956-, ) is a British author, born in Leicester. After completing high school, she trained at the Loughborough College of Art and Design and afterward held a job at the Medical Illustration Department of Leicester Royal Infirmary. She eventually moved to full-time writing, pursuing a love she had had since childhood. She is well known for her epic fantasy, vampire and supernatural novels

The original Blackbird series, written and published when she was in her late teens and her earliest novels, has recently been put back into print by Immanion Press.

Her novels Dark Cathedral, Pagan Moon, Dracula, The Undead and The Amber Citadel were all nominated for The British Fantasy Society's 'Best Novel' award

She has written numerous short stories, many published in anthologies and magazines.


Blackbird Series
1986. A Blackbird in Silver
1986. A Blackbird in Darkness
1987. A Blackbird in Amber
1988. A Blackbird in Twilight
1990. Darker than the Storm

Dark Cathedral:
1996. Dark Cathedral
1997. Pagan Moon

Other Novels:
1989. The Rainbow Gate
1992. A Taste of Blood Wine
1993. Sorrow's Light
1994. A Dance in Blood Velvet
1995. The Dark Blood of Poppies
1997. Dracula The Undead

The Jewelfire Trilogy
1999. The Amber Citadel
2000. The Sapphire Throne
2001. The Obsidian Tower
2003. The Court of the Midnight King
2003. Guiltless Blood

On Amazon:

Warrington, Freda. 'A Taste of Blood Wine', published in 1993 by Pan Books Ltd, 578 pages. ISBN 0330328468. Sorry, sold out, but click image to access prebuilt search for this item on Amazon UK
1993, Pan Books, pbk
Sorry, sold out, but click image above to access prebuilt search for this item on Amazon UK

Alternative online retailers to try:
Click here to access our prebuilt search for this title on Abebooks

Or click here to access our prebuilt search for this title on Alibris

Or click here to access our prebuilt search for this title on Ebay


Storyline:  The story is a complex, detailed portrait of a human family, the Nevilles, and a ring of vampires; the two become dangerously tangled over the course of this book. George Neville is a scientist, with one son (a veteran of the Great War), and three daughters. The middle daughter, Charlotte, works with her father as his assistant in his scientific research - and acts as his substitute for his dead wife, her perfect mother. This role however has always smothered her and left her unable to express her true self; that is until she meets Karl, a vampire who continues to experience a world of human emotions that he ought to have left behind.

Karl intends no harm at all to the Neville family; he only wants to study science. But his presence draws other vampires after him. And besides, he cannot resist Charlotte's mixture of passion and vulnerability... Their love threatens to destroy both Charlotte and her family; and none of them can escape Karl's eternal enemy, Kristian.


Freda Warrington Books/Magazines on Ebay:



Freda Warrington Books on Amazon: